I thank God for my unconquerable soul!

Nelson Mandela emerged from an unjust 27 years in prison ready to forgive and unite his country. With the wisdom of his huge heart, he led his nation in moving beyond the misery of apartheid, and affirming South Africa’s national pride.

See the movie Invictus for an unforgettable portrayal of that amazing journey.

Let us remember Mandela when we suffer unbearable pain. Let us remember him when we are consumed with anger toward someone who has hurt us or treated us unfairly.

As we complete and recover from the holiday season and enter a new year, let us remember those who’ve shown us a path toward making something wonderful out of our lives: Mandela, King, Ghandi, the great spiritual teachers, the ordinary people doing extraordinary things we all know. Let’s listen to the poets like William Ernest Henry whose poem sustained Mandela through the decades:

Invictus

Out of the night that covers me,
black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever God there be
for my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance,
I have not winced, nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance,
my head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place or wrath and tears
looms but the horror of the shade;
and yet the menace of the years,
finds, and shall find me, unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
how charged with punishments the scroll;
I am the master of my fate,
I am the captain of my soul.

Blessings to you dear visitor! Please send your feedback on this and other blog posts to me at drvlee1234@aol.com

3 Responses to I thank God for my unconquerable soul!

  1. Ketan says:

    Thanks for the poem, I was looking for it ever since I watched Invictus couple of weeks back. Hats of to Mandela and Morgan Freeman for fabulous performance.

  2. Kim Kardashian Wallpaper 2011…

    […]I thank God for my unconquerable soul! « The Rumi Secret[…]…

  3. kardashian store,kim kardashian store,kardashian store online…

    […]I thank God for my unconquerable soul! « The Rumi Secret[…]…

Leave a comment